Reflective Teaching – Day 4

Te@chthought‘s blogging challenge for Day 4 is “Respond: What do you love the most about teaching?”

This question has an easy and immediate answer: my students! I love the children with whom I have the honour of spending my day. I learn so much from them and I am constantly inspired by their thoughts, ideas, willingness to try, curiousity, leadership, compassion, and stories. 

I love the energy they bring to my day. I am a primary trained teacher, and I thought that the ultimate teaching position for me would be Kindergarten. I was really quite stressed when I received my first Middle School position! But, I love this age! Grade 6 is very similar to Kindergarten. In our district Grade 6 is the first year of Middle School, parents and students are often very nervous. There are a lot of “firsts” that happen again in Middle School, and a lot of gentle guidance on expectations and opportunities available. 

Middle School students are generous, outgoing, and eager to be challenged. Earning a relationship with my students has always felt like a priority and is not always easy. But, when the family comes together, it is magic!

Learning and teaching with my students is my favourite part of the job. They have taught me to take risks, try new ideas, and to persevere until I find success. 

Thank you, family!

Leave a Reply

